What does Tier 2 lockdown mean and what areas are in it?

LONDON has been placed under Tier 2 lockdown restrictions.

The three-tier lockdown strategy sees regions and cities in England categorised into medium, high, or very high risk. The tiers help decide the level of intervention needed in each area.

⚠️ Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest news & updates

London has been placed under tier two restrictions


London has been placed under tier two restrictionsCredit: London News Pictures

What areas are under a Tier Two lockdown?

Boris Johnson unveiled the three tier system levels of medium, high and very high.

London has been moved into Tier 2, as have Barrow-in-Furness, Chesterfield, Essex and York.

These are the areas currently under Tier Two lockdown as of October 15, 2020.


Greater Manchester



  • Chesterfield
  • Erewash
  • High Peak – the wards of Tintwistle, Padfield, Dinting, St John’s, Old Glossop, Whitfield, Simmondley, Gamesley, Howard Town, Hadfield South and Hadfield North
  • North-East Derbyshire





West Yorkshire

South Yorkshire

North Yorkshire

North East

Tees Valley

West Midlands



What is a Tier Two lockdown?

Areas in Tier Two – where there is a high risk of coronavirus – are banned from mixing with other households indoors, including in pubs and restaurants.

When outside, only two households will be able to mix.

The PM said this “primarily aims to reduce household transmission by banning mixing indoors”.

Social distancing measures, the “rule of six” outdoors and the 10pm curfew will continue in this tier.

Most areas which are currently subject to local restrictions will automatically move into it.


What are the Tier two restrictions?

  • You cannot have people you do not live with over to your house
  • You cannot visit anyone else’s house
  • You cannot socialise with anyone outside your household in pubs, restaurants or any other indoor setting
  • You can still meet up to six people in a private garden or public outdoor setting, such as a park
  • Businesses will not be legally mandated to close
  • Social distancing and the 10pm curfew will be maintained

When will the Tier Two lockdown restrictions come into force?

Some areas are already working under the Tier Two guidelines.

For areas that were added to the high level tier measures came into effect on October 14.

In London, tier two restrictions will come into effect from midnight on October 16.

How long will Tier Two lockdown restrictions last?

Restrictions will be reviewed regularly, and will be eased depending on the data.

The measures will be reviewed every month, however, this doesn’t necessarily mean they will be in place for a specific amount of time.

The restrictions could be in place for six months.

Will I be fined for not following the tier 2 rules?

There are some fines that will apply irrespective of the new tiered system.

Fines of £200 apply to anyone caught without wearing a face mask when a covering is required. The penalty doubles with each offence, up to £6,400 for repeat offences.

The fines for breaking self isolation starts at £1,000 and can rise to up to £10,000 for repeat offences.

Under tier two, you must not meet up in groups of more than six outside. Breaking this rule could result in a £200 fine.

Businesses can be fined if they do not collect test and trace details from customers and they must ensure premises are Covid-secure.

Liverpool plunged into strictest ‘very high risk’ level 3 lockdown with pubs SHUT and household mixing banned

Leave a Reply