MLB playoffs live updates: Best postseason day ever? Eight games on tap Wednesday

Fans are in for quite a treat Wednesday with eight Major League Baseball postseason games starting at noon and continuing into the night.

The playoffs began Tuesday with all Game 1 of all four American League Wild Card Series – wins for the Astros, White Sox, Rays and Yankees – and the NL joins the party today.

Braves-Reds (12:08 p.m.) kicks things off, followed by Twins-Astros (1:08), Cubs-Marlins (2:08), Athletics-White Sox (3:10), Rays-Blue Jays (4:07), Cardinals-Padres (5:08), Indians-Yankees (7:08) and concludes with Dodgers-Brewers (10:08) in Los Angeles.

The winners of these best-of-three series advance to the Division Series, which begin Oct. 5 (AL) and Oct. 6 (NL).

Keep it here all day for live updates and highlights from around the league.

Aaron Judge and Gleyber Torres celebrate the Yankees' Game 1 win.

Minnesota Twins prospect Alex Kirilloff will become the first player in history to make his debut by starting a playoff game. Kirilloff, 22, is playing right field and batting sixth for the Twins in Game 2 of the AL Wild Card Series against the Astros on Wednesday.

The left-handed hitter, is rated as the Twins’ No. 2 prospect and 27th overall by MLB Pipeline. Kiliroff is just the third player to make his MLB debut in a postseason game – but the first two to do so came off the bench. 

– Chris Bumbaca

When the Cincinnati Reds and Atlanta Braves complete their best-of-three series this week, one franchise will win its first playoff series in a long, long time.

The Reds haven’t won a playoff series since 1995. They were swept in the 2010 Division Series against Philadelphia, lost three games to two in the 2012 Division Series to San Francisco and lost in the 2013 Wild Card game in Pittsburgh.

“I like this team much more than I liked those teams,” said Joey Votto, the Reds’ only holdover from those playoff runs, “and I really liked those teams.”

Atlanta has been to the postseason more often but hasn’t won a playoff series since 2001 – nine consecutive series losses.

– Bobby Nightengale

Leave a Reply