I’m a former Premier League chairman and FA board member… now I’ve just been elected to Parliament as a Reform MP

FORMER Premier League chairman Rupert Lowe has been elected as a member of parliament for Reform UK.

The ex-Southampton chairman was voted as the MP for Great Yarmouth in the 2024 General Election.

Rupert Lowe has been elected as a member of Parliament


Rupert Lowe has been elected as a member of ParliamentCredit: Getty
He won one of the four Reform UK seats


He won one of the four Reform UK seatsCredit: Getty

Lowe, 66, was initially in charge of the Saints between 1996 and 2006.

He had a second spell at the club from 2008 to 2009 and left with he club being relegated to League One and in administration.

He was at the club during the move to St Mary’s from The Dell in 2001 and for the FA Cup final in 2003, which they lost to Arsenal.

While working in football, he also had a role as a board member for the Premier League.


It was not his first time working in politics, as he previously represented the Referendum Party and the Brexit Party.

In the 1997 General Election, he stood in Cotswold and lost over 20,000 votes to the Conservatives.

During his time with the Brexit Party, he was planned to be the candidate for the Dudley North constituency.

However, he withdrew just before the deadline on November 14 2019, for unknown reasons.

Most read in Football


He returned to politics by joining Reform UK in March 2023 and won the seat in Great Yarmouth with 35.2 per cent of the vote.

He claimed the seat with a majority of 1,426 over the Labour Party candidate Kier Cozens.

Adam Lallana seals emotional free transfer after leaving Brighton

After his success, he said: “This is a huge, seismic event in British political history, to break into the two-party state as the people’s army is massive.

“It shows that people have had enough, they want change, they want better government and they want freedom.

“My job is to reform Westminster with other members of the Reform Party.”

Reform UK won three more seats in its debut election.

Lee Anderson, Richard Tice, and Nigel Farage all got in, but Labour won by a landslide.

Who are these famous footballers?