The Lessons of 2016

The Daily Poster

Listen to ‘The Daily’: The Lessons of 2016

“The Daily” sat down with Dean Baquet, the executive editor of The New York Times, to discuss how criticism of The Times’s coverage of the last presidential election will inform our approach this time.

The media’s coverage of the 2016 presidential campaign has come to be criticized for operating under three key assumptions: that Hillary Clinton was certain to be the Democratic nominee, that Donald Trump was unlikely to be the Republican nominee, and that once Clinton and Trump had become their party’s nominees, she would win.

With voting for 2020 set to begin in Iowa on Monday, “The Daily” sat down with Dean Baquet, the executive editor of The New York Times, to discuss the lessons he — and the organization — learned from 2016.

ImageDean Baquet in studio with “The Daily.” “The big unanswered question of 2016,” he said, “is why did so many millions of Americans vote for this very unusual candidate?”
Credit…Michael Barbaro/The New York Times

<!– –>

Meet the Candidates »

Learn more about some of the top-polling Democratic presidential contenders.

.story.theme-interactive { overflow: hidden; } .storylines-menu-election2020 { height: 70px; width: 100%; margin-bottom: 1rem; border-bottom: 1px solid #dadada; } @media screen and (max-width: 600px) { .storylines-menu-election2020 { margin-bottom: 3rem; } }

“The Daily” is made by Theo Balcomb, Andy Mills, Lisa Tobin, Rachel Quester, Lynsea Garrison, Annie Brown, Clare Toeniskoetter, Paige Cowett, Michael Simon Johnson, Brad Fisher, Larissa Anderson, Wendy Dorr, Chris Wood, Jessica Cheung, Alexandra Leigh Young, Jonathan Wolfe, Lisa Chow, Eric Krupke, Marc Georges, Luke Vander Ploeg, Adizah Eghan, Kelly Prime, Julia Longoria, Sindhu Gnanasambandan, Jazmín Aguilera, M.J. Davis Lin, Austin Mitchell, Sayre Quevedo, Neena Pathak, Dan Powell, Dave Shaw, Sydney Harper, Daniel Guillemette and Mike Benoist. Our theme music is by Jim Brunberg and Ben Landsverk of Wonderly. Special thanks to Sam Dolnick, Mikayla Bouchard, Stella Tan, Julia Simon, Lauren Jackson, Nora Keller and Mahima Chablani.

Leave a Reply